Looks We Love: The Classic Brooch

13 Jan

How can you watch Casablanca and not admire the style-icon that was Ingrid Bergman?  In this photo, the cool, contained Ilsa sports a knock-out jeweled brooch on the lapel of her gorgeous shirt dress.

The brooch has gone in and out of vogue on a steady rotation since the dawn of fashion.  More recently, you can see them sprucing up gowns on the red carpet, dresses on the first lady, and even adding some sparkle to cloth headbands on it girls.

If you’re looking to add a classic vintage brooch to your collection, it’s important to consider versatility and your personal style.

Whether you want a pop of color like this cheerful red leaf clip or a classic statement of Old Hollywood style a la Bergman like this Blue Rhinestone flower, a well-chosen brooch has the potential to become your signature piece, combining in a variety of ways with the most dressed down to the most formal of your wardrobe pieces.

If you’re not quite ready to commit to something as daring as the above choices, go for a neutral, matte metal in a classic cut.  Silver and gold are the obvious choices, like this classic gold leaf, but pearl and black are also solid choices for an understated but elegant addition to your lapel.

2 Responses to “Looks We Love: The Classic Brooch”

  1. dressedherdaysvintage January 14, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    I adore brooches! Thanks for these clever ideas. I love to wear them on coats and hats, too. I’ve also discovered a way to make them more versatile: You can buy these accessories that allow you to convert any brooch to a pendant. I can’t remember where I found mine, but a good google search might result in something. Love your blog!

  2. Leti March 12, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    Oh THANK YOU! Regarding your article on Brooches. Not only did I enjoy and agree, with the article. But you saved me!!! I just purchased a Brooch at a thrift store, it is gorgeous and quite real. But after reading your article, I started thinking where is it. As tonight I had cleaned the other pieces I purchased. And it was nowhere to be found…I literally had to go through the trash bag, piece by piece. Yes I know awful! But I FOUND IT!.
    It is real knew it the moment I saw it, and paid only $5 for it. It is square with a black stone in the middle on the sides it has small diamonds and small baby pearls. Totally classic Art Deco style and gorgeous.
    So thank you again, so glad I just happened to read this tonight. Tomorrow is trash day and it would have been gone…..

Leave a Reply

